The other humans seemed to know how to do things, their actions seemed prescribed; their emotions less volatile, their natures more severe. They watched a lot more movies than I did, and they went on trips to Disney World and foreign lands, much more than my family did. They didn’t cry sometimes, and they liked violence, football, and war to an unhealthy degree. Oh my goodness me! How could things actually be as they exist here? How was I incarnated into this alleged reality, with all these queer and freakish ghouls? Wasn’t there a policy as to who gets allowed into God’s green pastures? There are so many savages, and libertines, and brutes that are alive here? What are the reserved and civilized folks to do? We’ve been overrun by walking and talking beasts, these sinister elements of nature are ruling over the land.

